Mini Meals

Today was the perfect weather to exercise outside! It’s about 80°F, very cloudy and most importantly low humidity. The humidity has been killing me lately. I didn’t realize how horrible it gets here (Gold Coast, Australia) in the summertime. The weather is predicted to be rainy for the rest of the week, so I’m glad I got a nice run in before the storm(s)!

I covered about 4-5(ish) miles. I walked for the first half hour or so. It felt so good to walk for some reason and I just wanted to enjoy nature for a while. Then I alternated sprinting (about 20-30 sec. at a time) & power walking. I wish I had a Garmin watch like This One so I can track my progress for real instead of guesstimating. Ooh I just noticed Allie has a pink iPod Shuff, too! Very handy for running (clips right onto my shorts).

Before

After

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Before… I drank a nice cup of joe and was more than ready to get running. During, I felt like my head was going to float off because of a big ‘ol coffee buzz. After, I was sweaty and extremely attractive 😉 . Notice my vibrant pink sports bra (from Target).

***

After my invigorating workout, I had some yogurt!

This consists of:

  • Non-fat (low sugar!) Berry Yogurt
  • A Chopped Small Apple
  • The rest of my Failed Granola Bars
  • Flax Seeds
  • Cinnamon

I settled in bed with it as I watched my favorite movie of all time: Center Stage!

[Fun Fact: I met two of the main actors at my past hostess job in NYC – “Charlie” and “Cooper.” The restaurant where I worked is right across the street from Lincoln Center and  turns out… they still dance there! I wanna go to the ballet when I get back to the city and see them perform.]

***

When the movie finished, I was hungry again. So I made a nice lil salad. It’s sort of a combination of my favorite salads: Caprese and Tomato, Cucumber & Feta.

The simple ingredients:

  • Cucumber
  • Tomato
  • Onion
  • Basil
  • Dressing: EVOO, Balsamic Vinegar, Squeeze of Lemon, Sea Salt & Cracked Pepper
I love basil, don’t you? Here’s a tip: When storing any fresh herb in the fridge, wrap it in a damp paper towel and keep it in a container or plastic baggie. It’ll last longer! You’re welcome.

If you make this, I suggest you add in either feta or mozzarella. Also use less onions than I did. WEW! A very strong mint couldn’t even cover up my crazy onion breath. It was really good though & I think the lemon squeeze makes a big difference.

Oh and did I mention the two squares of dark chocolate I devoured after this salad? Mmm.

***

Now I’m thinking about what I should make for dinner. Life is hard. BYE!

3 responses

Leave a Reply

