Mexican Delight

Lunch brightened the mood a tad (hence: Mexican Delight), although it is still raining cats & dogs.

I should take a picture of my fridge because it’s just about empty. But I’d rather you not feel bad for me and focus on what I can create out of the very little groceries I have left. I like to call this Mexican Delight:

  • Lettuce
  • Lentils
  • Cannellini Beans
  • Tomato
  • Avocado
  • Fresh Chopped Garlic
  • Lemon Squeeze, Garlic Powder, Salt, Pepper

Simply mix all ingredients (except lettuce) and let sit in the fridge for a bit before eating. That way, the flavors mesh and it turns into a decadent guacamole-type thang.

This would be superb with black beans, onions and cilantro. That would totally Mexify it! Mexify is a word if I say so. But of course I ran out of onions yesterday and do not currently have black beans or cilantro on hand. It was still exceptionally yummy without them. Oh tortilla chips, duh! Yes get your hands on those, too!

SO good with these bad boys:

In case you’re wondering, these are the crisps I have been using. Now that I’m all out (damn) I will have to wait to buy more (or something like them) when I get back to NY. If you click on the picture you can more easily see the wonderful nutrition facts. Yes, KJ is Kilojoules which is about 4 times the amount of calories (1 Cal = 4.18 KJ).

After devouring my very last rye crisp (sad face), I tossed the mixture & lettuce together to make a wondrous salad. Then I squeezed more lemon juice atop and WALA!

Needed something else (and warm) so I made popcorn for one! Again, no pity needed.

Rummaged through the cupboards and BINGO popcorn to the rescue.

I love homemade popcorn more than any other kind. All you do is coat the bottom in canola oil, throw in some kernels on medium heat, and do not forget to COVER IT. Obvious, but important to not forget. Then sprinkle with kosher or sea salt. Course salt is the best. Get some if you don’t own any. You’ll thank me later.

***

The gym isn’t looking good. I wanna get the H outta here, but the rain+cold= no thanks. If I didn’t have to walk through this miserable weather to catch the bus, then alright. But no. Not today folks.

Leave a Reply

