I Heart Grocery Shopping

Seriously I love it. More than anything!!! I knowww I knowww I have no money. I do own a couple credit cards though… necessities are necessities.

The thing is, I am leaving in just about a week. I really didn’t want to buy more food before leaving but I honestly only have two oranges, a couple lemons and part of a zucchini & cucumber left. OH and a frozen burger.

I cannot live off of that nonsense for more than a day. Therefore, I convinced myself to get minimal needs for the rest of my time here. But then I walked into Woolworths…

Necessary? No. But they were cheap AND in the health food section. They really aren’t bad…gluten & dairy free (not that those are concerns) and about 60 calories for two cookies. Plus they get me into the Christmas spirit! Oh yes they are totallllly necessary.

***

Uh…yum!? Apple pie, cheesecake and sticky date yogurt!?

I was actually planning on buying yogurt because it is a staple for me and these were on sale! Holla.

***

Haven’t had soy beans in the longest time and when I saw this combo I nearly drooled thinking about them in my yogurt. Necessity.

***

I laugh at myself on a daily basis. Here’s one of the reasons. I literally scared the woman next to me as I jumped to grab these when I saw this decent-sized bag was only $1.99! PRUNES…. I know.

I also bought lettuce, two mangos, three apples, two onions, and some garlic.

***

I had it in the back of my mind that I wanted to make granola (bars). They’ll be perfect for travels and I can eat them with my new delicious yogurt. So I went to town.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chunk to the left. Fruit & Nut to the right.

In this chocolaty/peanut buttery bar we have: oats, peanuts, almonds, cinnamon, pinch of  salt, vanilla extract, chopped dark chocolate, chopped ginger cookie (had to), tahini & honey (as the binder). These are more likely to stay together as actual bars, unlike these:

Yeah I’m thinking this is going to turn into granola. I was too anxious to carefully stir it all together correctly and I don’t think they’ll stick. We’ll see tomorrow, though.

They contain: oats, almonds, prunes, cinnamon, vanilla extract, pinch of salt, tahini & honey (as the binder), chopped gingernut cookie, and a majority of the goji/soy nut/etc. trail mix.

***
I snacked so hard on all of these delightful treats, therefore I will have a very light din. Maybe cottage cheese and something else. Unconventional, per usual… But I haven’t had cottage cheese in like- 6 months! Craving it.

I didn’t blog at all yesterday (and barely today) because I have been eating the same meals: oatmeal, yogurt, salads, blah blah blah. What can I say – I don’t like being a bore! Also, I will no longer be having oatmeal for brekky (sad face) because I used the rest of my oats on these damn granola bars. No worries, I will demolish them in no time. Probs for breakfast.

***

BYE!

4 responses

  1. You’re not a bore! It’s fun to read someone’s blog because it’s like a letter written just for your readers. So even if you are sitting watching the TV, tell us about it, we probably have something to say! (I actually have to practice that myself, here I am preaching but not doing….tsktsk to me!)

  2. Pingback: Breakfast in Bed | Dash of Decadence

  3. Pingback: Dog Attack | Dash of Decadence

  4. Pingback: Warm Summer Salad | Dash of Decadence

Leave a Reply

