Good News & Bad News

I gotta start with the bad news because I would hate to end on a sour note. This will be my last post for about a week (probably less). I have been using my phone camera for photos and I no longer have a charger so I gotta keep it off. But the next time I post – HOPEFULLY I’ll have real pictures taken from a real camera. And I’ll be back in the wonderful USA (that’s the good news)!

I leave Australia in 3 days. THREE days. I cannot believe that. I am very anxious to get home to some nice crisp weather (unlike this humid hot mess we got goin’ on over here). CANNOT wait to see my family and friends!

I went to the store for some last minute souvenirs and ended up finding a very cheap piece of a pumpkin (to cook haha that sounds weird, but it was not even 60 cents) and a sweet potato. YAY can’t wait to cook those up tonight for a nice comfort dinner. I’m planning on sautéing them together with a little honey and cinnamon (yep, sweet indeed).

OH and (more good news) I also bought my favorite snack in the world: BHUJA SPICY PEAS. I am going to attempt to keep them sealed until at least Wednesday. Ha, let’s see how that goes. They’ll be perfect for the plane(s) though. Along with the newest Cosmopolitan Magazine – it’s the January 2012 (Australian version – good souvenir, too 😉 ) issue and I am definitely refraining from reading it before I get on the plane. Lots to look forward to!

***

So like I said earlier, I was feeling quite ill this morning. I keep trying to figure out why and maybe it’s my iron deficiency? The doctor said it’s not extremely low, but it’s the only thing I could come up with. So I ate my last frozen burger for lunch.

Animal meat has the best kind of iron for your body. It’s the most easily digested, especially red meat. So yes – perfect pick-me-up! I feel better already!

I topped this burger with melty cottage cheese! On the side is two Cos Lettuce leaves with a whole tomato and sauteed onion and garlic. Hearty, me likey.

Then for some more greens:

A salad with yet MORE tomatoes and onions, along with cucumber. Dressed in lemon juice, evoo, salt, pepper & garlic powder.

This meal tasted like I was eating “taco bell”…except not really because nothing compares to Taco Bell. Did you know there are no Taco Bell’s in Australia? I know, I’ve been deprived for over five months….!

Any who, I rolled it up just like a taco, half of burger in each leaf. Holy YUM! Then I slapped on Siracha for some spice. Very satisfying, I think it was exactly what I needed. I’m so not cut-out to be a vegetarian. Meat is too yummy and fuels me so nicely (speaking of which – I haven’t had plain chicken in such a long time. Or salmon, which is not ‘meat’ but I’m getting my hands on some when I get home!).

Okay now I want chocolate.

Catchya on the flip side!!! 😀

One response

Leave a Reply

